He Will Lift You Up.

His Shelter websize

Psalm 28:7  “The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in Him, and I am helped.”

    Dear friend,  often I have heard people say, “being a single mother has to be the most difficult job there is.” Those of us who are (or who have been) a single-mom, mindfully nod in agreement. I have likened it to running a marathon, only one that does not end.

While running, we carry a load that was never meant for just one. No matter how we became single-mothers, there is healing that needs to occur. Something broke, changed, died, shattered; it happened, so we gather all the pieces of our lives and begin to carry on.

The pieces loosely fit together and feel jagged and painful as they rub. We lovingly cradle the broken pieces of our children as we run, our hearts absorb their tears. Our own pillows are wet at night and the burden of balancing the finances nearly makes us trip. Responsibilities and obligations grab at us from the sidelines as we struggle to keep up the pace. The weight of everything, once manageable, is now too heavy to bear and the pieces we are desperately trying to keep together begin to fall, one by one.

Matthew 11:28  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

Psalm 34:18  ” The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”

Psalm 147:3 “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”

When we taught our children to walk, we stayed close and were ready to catch them when they fell. We didn’t roll our eyes when their chubby little legs gave way, requiring our strength to stabilize them. We encouraged them, because we knew that one day with practice they would gain their own strength to walk and run.  Our Abba Father takes even more tender care with us, staying close, ready to catch us and lift us up. Call out to Him. He will lend you His strength and guide you in how you are to walk this path. The  difference is that we need to continue being in His word (practicing) and relying on His strength so we may grow into who He has called us to be.

Psalm 63:6-8    “On my bed I remember You;  I think of You through the watches of the night.  Because You are my help,  I sing in the shadow of Your wings.  My soul clings to You;  Your right hand upholds me.”

Throughout the bible, God reminds us that He is with us at all times. And for those who are broken, God is closer still. During the beginning years of single motherhood, the worst time of day for me was in the evening, after putting the boys to bed. It was lonely and quiet, too quiet. It took a lot of effort not to become overwhelmed with sadness, yet I wasn’t always successful. My tears would flow, and there went another box of tissues. At times I felt like I was drowning in grief. But our God has such great compassion for us. When my heart would call out to Him, He would fill me with His indescribable peace and any sorrow quickly disappeared. Not only did it reassure me of His presence, but also of His great love and power.

John 14:27  “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you; I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your heart be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Psalm 4: 11-12 ” But let all who take refuge in You be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread Your protection over them, that those who love Your name may rejoice in You. For surely, O LORD, You bless the righteous; You surround them with favour as with a shield.”

When your children have been sick, did you tend to them more than usual? When my son, Madi (in 2008, at age 7) lay in a coma, I rarely left his side. Even though I could do nothing for him, I wanted him to know he was not alone, if he woke-up. We, God’s children, are just reflections of our maker. Would God be any less attentive or compassionate than us? Never. Oh, He is so much more!  He is our Almighty Comforter, our Rock, our Provider, our Sustainer, our Healer, our Fortress, our Shield, our Refuge, our Counselor, our Strength, our Hope……

Cry out to Him, cling to Him and ask Him to heal your heart and the heart’s of your children and to shower you with His grace. Surrender yourself each day to Him and find refuge in His word.

Isaiah 41: 10  “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with  my righteous right hand.”

He will sustain you, and He will lift you up with His Righteous right hand and lead you into tomorrow. I know, because He has and still does this for me.

Friend over the next two weeks, put these verses to memory so that they will be planted in your heart. Also check out Psalm 145!

The LORD bless you,

Shannon

2 thoughts on “He Will Lift You Up.

Leave a comment